# **Worldwide Summary**

Measures to prohibit or limit the use of animals in circuses

Written by: ADI (website)

#### WORLDWIDE SUMMARY

Measures to prohibit or limit the use of animals in circuses have already been adopted in Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, India, Israel, Malta, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, Sweden, Taiwan and The Netherlands and similar laws are being discussed in the UK, Brazil and Chile.

### NORTH AMERICA

**USA: 49 partial or full bans** on circus animals in municipalities in the US, in **22 states.** (A 'partial' ban or restriction includes restrictions on specific species, or types of performance, or certain uses of animals or animal management practices (such as use of elephant hooks)).

These include (at June 2014):-

<u>Arkansas</u> – Sherwood; <u>California</u> – Corona, Encinitas, Huntington Beach, Irvine, Los Angeles, Marin County, Oakland, Pasadena, Rohnert Park, Santa Ana, West Hollywood; <u>Colorado</u> – Boulder; <u>Connecticut</u> – Stamford; <u>Florida</u> – Clearwater, Hallandale Beach, Hollywood, Margate, Miami Beach, Pompano Beach, Tallahassee, Weston; <u>Georgia</u> – Fulton County; <u>Hawaii</u> – Maui County; <u>Idadho</u> – Ketchum; <u>Illinois</u> – Collinsville; <u>Indiana –</u> Fort Wayne, St John, <u>Kansas</u> – Douglas County; <u>Massachusetts</u> – Braintree, Plymouth, Quincy, Revere, Somerville, Weymouth; (Provincetown added) <u>Missouri</u> – Richmond; <u>New York</u> – Greenburgh, Southampton; <u>North Carolina</u> – Orange County, Chapel Hill;<u>Ohio</u>; <u>Oregon</u> – Clatsop County; <u>South Carolina</u> – Chester; Aiken County, <u>Texas</u> – Simonton; <u>Vermont</u> – Burlington; <u>Washington</u> – Port Townsend, Redmond; <u>Wisconsin</u> – Dane County, Green Bay. **Canada:** Local bans on the use of animals in circuses in 28 municipal jurisdictions including Vancouver.

# **CENTRAL AND SOUTH AMERICA**

Argentina: Local bans on the use of wild animals in circuses in over 20 cities including a ban in the city of Buenos Aires

Bolivia: Nationwide ban on the use of wild and domestic animals in circuses

**Brazil:** Local bans on the use of wild and domestic animals in circuses in the districts of Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Pernambuco, Paraiba, Rio Grande do Sul, Espiritu Santo, Mato Grosso do Sul, Alagoas and a number of bans in cities within another four Brazilian states

**Chile:** Local bans on the use of wild and domestic animals in circuses in the city of Santiago

**Colombia:** Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses; Local ban on the use of animals in circuses in the capital, Bogota

Costa Rica: Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses

**Ecuador:** Nationwide ban on the use of native wild animals; restrictions on the use of exotic animals; ban on the import of both native and exotic wild animals with circuses

**El Salvador:** Nationwide ban on the "Income, use or abuse of wildlife species in all kinds of entertainment"

Mexico: Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses

**Panama:** Nationwide ban prohibiting "entry of wild animals for use in static and travelling circuses and similar shows"

Paraguay: Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses

**Peru:** Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses as well as a local ban on all animals in Magdalena del Mar

# EUROPE

Austria: Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses

**Belgium:** Nationwide ban on the use of most wild animals in circuses (Parrots and camels are classed as domestic)

Bosnia and Herzegovina: Nationwide ban on ALL animals in circuses

**Bulgaria:** Nationwide ban on certain wild animal species in circuses, variety shows and other entertainment facilities

Croatia: Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses

Cyprus: Nationwide ban on all animals in circuses

Czech Republic: Nationwide ban on the use of certain species in circuses

Denmark: Nationwide ban on the use of certain species in circuses

Estonia: Nationwide ban on the use of wild-born animals in circuses

Finland: Nationwide ban on the use of certain species in circuses

Greece: Nationwide ban on ALL animals in circuses

**Hungary:** Nationwide ban on the use of wild caught animals in circuses, the purchase and training of elephants and primates for circus performances and the purchase, training and use of CITES (Appendix 1) listed species in circuses

**Ireland:** Local bans on the use of wild animals in circuses in Drogheda, Fingal, Galway City, Kildare, Monaghan, Moyle, South Dublin and Waterford

Malta: Nationwide ban on ALL animals in circuses

The Netherlands: Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses

Norway: Local ban on wild or exotic animal shows in Tromsø municipality

Poland: Nationwide ban on the use of wild-born animals in circuses

**Portugal:** Nationwide ban restricting the use of great apes in circuses and the acquisition and breeding of CITES listed species

Slovenia: Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses

**Spain:** Local bans on the use of wild animals in circuses in several towns including Barcelona

Sweden: Nationwide ban on the use of certain species in circuses

**United Kingdom:** Over 200 local authorities have bans on animal circuses (more than two thirds of these ban all performing animals, the remainder ban just wild animals). A Government commitment to ban the use of wild animals in circuses – this is yet to be enacted.

# OCEANIA

Australia: Local bans on the use of animals in circuses in several towns including Hobsons Bay, Surf Coast Shire, Parramata and Lismore

# ASIA

India: Nationwide ban on the use of certain species in circuses.

Israel: Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses.

Singapore: Nationwide ban on the use of wild animals in circuses.

Taiwan: Nationwide prohibition on the import or export of protected wildlife for circuses.